What is Somatic Psychology?

Somatic psychology is a holistic approach that respects and utilizes the powerful connection between body, mind and spirit.  By paying conscious attention to how we live in our bodies, our patterns of being in the world can be revealed and transformed.

HOW CAN THIS PSYCHOTHERAPEUTIC APPROACH HELP ME?

This approach can help you enrich your life, your work and your relationships.  You can address issues such as:

 

  • Anxiety
  • Depression
  • Trauma
  • Relationships Issues
  • Work Challenges
  • Stress Management
  • Chronic Pain
What does a session look like?

As a starting point in therapy sessions, clients can address life issues or simply be guided to become aware of how they are feeling in the present moment, by noticing thoughts, feelings, and sensations, as they arise. As we listen and feel into the ways we live in our bodies, we can also notice the beliefs we are holding about the world. Typically, by uncovering our beliefs, which can be limiting, we can also organically create new choices and possibilities that are more freeing and whole.

 

Techniques include verbal expression, mindfulness and experiential exercises which can include body awareness, movement and touch. Together, as therapist and client, we foster compassionate presence and mark a path toward healing.

Testimonials
What is the Hakomi Method?

Hakomi is a body-centered approach to self-discovery and emotional healing using mindfulness. It is a gentle yet powerful way to uncover and transform underlying habits and beliefs that affect the way a person experiences life. 
 
The method is designed to help clients discover new ways of being in the world that are naturally more freeing and whole.  This mindfulness-based approach is integrated into Maya’s psychotherapy practice. 

Ron Kurtz, Hakomi Method Founder

About Maya

“Therapy is a collaborative process, and ultimately one that is meant to be empowering for clients.  While people are coming to me with situations and states of mind and body that are causing them distress, I am also looking to see what inspires me in each of them. I encourage clients to slow down to be able to feel or listen to themselves attentively and with curiosity, which often provides them with unexpected clarity.  Some of my clients discover that therapy can also be playful, enjoyable and enlivening. For individuals, groups or couples, I offer a space for transformation to take place.”

 

Maya Charney, MA, licensed psychotherapist developed her distinctive approach to therapy, which encourages healing and transformation through presence and embodiment. She earned an M.A. in Somatic Psychology, a study of the body-mind interface, from Naropa University (Boulder Colorado, 2000), known for its unique bridging of Buddhist teachings with modern Western psychological principles. She is also a certified Hakomi practitioner (2010) and Hakomi teacher (2012). The Hakomi Method is in alignment and integrated into Maya’s psychotherapy practice.

 

Maya Charney is a licensed psychotherapist recognized by L’Ordre des Psychologues du Québec and a member of the APQ (Association des Psychothérapeutes du Québec). She can write insurance receipts as a psychotherapist.

Events and Trainings

No Events

Appointment

To make an appointment, contact me by phone or email and I will get back to you as soon as possible.

Payment: $120/h

Cancellation policy: In order to cancel an appointment, please provide 48 hours notice.  You will be charged administrative fees of 50 % of the therapy session if you do not cancel within that timing. Thank you for your understanding.

Please download and fill the new client intake form before the first session.  It allows me to familiarize myself with you and your concerns.

Contact

: (514) 465-8441

mayarachelle@gmail.com

 

The studio is located at the north west corner of Mont-Royal and Boyer, five minutes from the Mont-Royal metro.

 

Studio Mayalotus 

4502 Boyer Street

Montréal, QC, H2J 3E2

Qu’est-ce que la psychologie somatique?

La psychologie somatique, à travers une approche holistique, utilise la puissance des connexions entre le corps, l’esprit et l’âme. En portant son attention sur la façon dont nous habitons notre corps, les habitudes ancrées au plus profond de nos êtres peuvent nous être révélées et, ainsi, être transformées.

COMMENT CETTE DÉMARCHE PSYCHOTHÉRAPEUTIQUE PEUT-ELLE M’AIDER?

Elle peut vous aider à enrichir votre vie, vos relations et votre travail. Vous pouvez abordez des conditions telles que:

 

  • Anxiété
  • Dépression
  • Traumatismes
  • Difficultés relationnelles
  • Défis professionels
  • Gestion du stress
  • Douleur chronique
Comment se déroule une session

Comme point de départ d’une session, le client pourra aborder un thème existentiel ou simplement se laisser guider pour prendre conscience de ce qu’il ou elle ressent en prenant note des pensées, sensations et états d’être qui lui viennent. Il est en effet possible d’accéder aux croyances qui filtrent notre vision du monde en écoutant et percevant les manières dont nous habitons notre corps. Prendre conscience de croyances souvent contraignantes permet de s’en libérer, suscitant de nouvelles circonstances favorables parmi lesquelles choisir dans un esprit d’ouverture.

 

Les moyens utilisés sont l’expression verbale et des pratiques expérientielles telles que la respiration consciente, le mouvement et le toucher thérapeutique. Ensemble, comme thérapeute et comme client, nous favorisons une attitude compatissante et balisons un chemin unique vers la guérison.

Témoignages
Qu’est-ce que la méthode Hakomi?

La méthode Hakomi est une approche psycho-corporelle, à la fois douce et puissante, qui peut révéler et transformer les croyances sous-jacentes et les habitudes qui affectent la manière dont une personne fait l’expérience de la vie.

 

L’approche Hakomi repose sur l’utilisation d’expériences effectuées en pleine conscience dans un but d’étude de soi.  Elle s’intègre dans les sessions de psychothérapie et offre toute une série d’outils pour développer un vie plus satisfaisante, plus libre, plus consciente.

Ron Kurtz, fondateur de la méthode Hakomi

À propos de Maya Charney

« La thérapie est un processus collaboratif, et ultimement son but est d’inviter le client à retrouver son propre pouvoir.  Bien que les gens viennent consulter lorsqu’ils sont dans des situations et des états de corps et d’esprit qui leur font vivre de la souffrance, je recherche aussi à voir ce qui m’inspire en eux.  J’encourage mes clients à ralentir pour pouvoir se ressentir et s’écouter attentivement et avec curiosité. Ceci leur offre souvent un sentiment inattendu de clarté.  Certains de mes client découvrent que la thérapie peut aussi être agréable et vivifiante.  Pour les individus, les groupes ou les couples, j’offre un espace où la transformation peut prendre place. »

 

Maya Charney, MA, psychothérapeute agréée, a développé une approche thérapeutique distincte qui encourage la guérison et la transformation de soi à travers la présence et l’incarnation. Elle détient une maîtrise en Psychologie somatique, basée sur l’étude des connexions psycho-corporelles, de l’université Naropa (Boulder, Colorado, 2000), reconnue pour son approche unique faisant le lien entre les enseignements bouddhistes et les principes occidentaux modernes.  Maya est aussi une praticienne Hakomi (2010) et enseignante Hakomi (2012) certifiée. La Méthode Hakomi se fait en symbiose avec le travail de Maya en psychothérapie.

 

Maya est membre en règle de la APQ (Association des Psychothérapeutes du Québec), sa pratique est reconnue par l’Ordre des psychologues du Québec et elle peut écrire des reçus comme psychothérapeute.

Événements et formations

Aucun événement

Rendez-vous

Pour prendre rendez-vous, veuillez me contacter par téléphone ou par courriel et je vous répondrai dès que possible.

Tarif: $120/h

 

Politique d’annulation: S’il vous plaît veuillez me notifier 48 heures d’avance si vous annulez votre rendez-vous. Des frais administratifs de 50% du montant du rendez-vous manqué seront exigé si le délai prescrit n’a pas été respecté.  Merci de votre compréhension.

 

S’il vous plaît téléchargez et remplissez le formulaire d’admission avant la première séance.  Ceci me permet de me familiariser avec vous et vos préoccupations.

S’il vous plaît téléchargez et remplissez le formulaire d’admission avant la première séance.  Ceci me permet de me familiariser avec vous et vos préoccupations.

Contactez Maya:

: (514) 465-8441

mayarachelle@gmail.com

 

Le bureau est situé au coeur du Plateau Mont-Royal,

à 5 minutes à pied du Métro Mont-Royal.

 

Studio Mayalotus

4502 Rue Boyer

Montréal, QC, H2J 3E2